Region 9

CFA Region 9 Europe is a geographical division within the Cat Fanciers’ Association (CFA), the world’s largest cat registry, encompassing European countries. Europe is a multicultural and multilingual continent, and we have a diverse community of cat enthusiasts, breeders, and exhibitors from across the continent.

There are nine regions in the CFA, with regions 1-7 consisting of various American states and Canadian & Mexican provinces, divided by geography and relative population, while regions 8 and 9 consist of the entirety of Japan and Europe, respectively. All other countries (including China) compete under the International Division.

The very first CFA show in Europe took place in France in 1988, with subsequent shows held in Italy, Austria, and Germany. In those days, Europe belonged to the International Division. Olivier Grin served as an International Representative for the International Division. The first European clubs, Persan Fan Club and Club des Amis du Chat (France), were accepted to CFA in 1988.

In 2011, Europe officially became a CFA region, specifically designated as Region 9. The Regional Directors who have served include Pauli Huhtaniemi (2012-2014), Pam DelaBar (2014-2018) and Michael Schleissner (2018-2020), with Pam DelaBar currently serving as the Regional Director.

Europe became CFA Region 9 in 2011.

Where is the CFA in Europe?

You may find some local activities from your own country at the CFA Region 9. Please, visit the clubs pages to see if there is a CFA club in your own country.

Region 9 – Europe

Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Macedonia, Malta, Monaco, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, Ukraine, United Kingdom.

Comments are closed.